Saturday, June 22, 2024
84.3 F

Republicans Target Central Florida Congressman Soto to Grow Majority

The National Republican Congressional Committee announced a list of 37 seats currently held by vulnerable House Democrats that represent pick-up opportunities for Republicans, including Central Florida Congressman Darren Soto.

Rep. Soto, an Orlando Democrat, was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 2016 to represent Florida’s Ninth Congressional District, which includes all of Osceola and parts of Orange and Polk Counties. He is the first Floridian of Puerto Rican descent to serve in Congress, and currently serves on the House Committee on Energy and Commerce and the House Committee on Agriculture.

“Republicans are in the majority and on offense. We will grow our House majority by building strong campaigns around talented recruits in these districts who can communicate the dangers of Democrats’ extreme agenda,” said NRCC Chairman Richard Hudson.“These House Democrats should be shaking in their boots.”

Rep. Soto won his last election with about 54% of the vote, with the Republican challenger, Scotty Moore, getting about 46%. Rep. Soto won by about 15,000 votes, which made the Central Florida race closer than the incumbent would like. Expect the politics to heat up across Florida’s 9th Congressional District.

The House Democrat targets for Republicans include:

  • (AK-AL) Mary Peltola
  • (CA-09) Josh Harder
  • (CA-47) Open (Porter)
  • (CA-49) Mike Levin
  • (CO-08) Yadira Caraveo
  • (CT-05) Jahana Hayes
  • (FL-09) Darren Soto
  • (IL-17) Eric Sorensen
  • (IN-01) Frank Mrvan
  • (KS-03) Sharice Davids
  • (ME-02) Jared Golden
  • (MI-03) Hillary Scholten
  • (MI-07) Open (Slotkin)
  • (MI-08) Dan Kildee
  • (MN-02) Angie Craig
  • (NC-01) Don Davis
  • (NC-13) Wiley Nickel
  • (NC-14) Jeff Jackson
  • (NH-01) Chris Pappas
  • (NM-02) Gabriel Vasquez
  • (NV-01) Dina Titus
  • (NV-03) Susie Lee
  • (NV-04) Steven Horsford
  • (NY-18) Pat Ryan
  • (OH-01) Greg Landsman
  • (OH-09) Marcy Kaptur
  • (OH-13) Emilia Sykes
  • (OR-04) Val Hoyle
  • (OR-06) Andrea Salinas
  • (PA-07) Susan Wild
  • (PA-08) Matt Cartwright
  • (PA-17) Chris Deluzio
  • (RI-02) Seth Magaziner
  • (TX-34) Vicente Gonzalez
  • (VA-07) Abigail Spanberger
  • (WA-03) Marie Gluesenkamp Perez
  • (WA-08) Kim Schrier

“We recruit strong candidates, and then we build strong campaigns around them,” Hudson added. “That’s how we’re going to add seats this time.”

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles